Timing Sync

Timing Sync lets you automatically synchronize your Timing data across several Macs. Even if you only use one Mac, Timing Sync makes for a great off-site backup of your valuable time-tracking data!

In addition, a Timing Sync account is required to use the Timing web app (e.g. for tracking time on the go) as well as Timing for Teams.

Table of Contents

Setup

To get started, click this link and allow it to open the Timing app, or navigate to the corresponding preference pane manually:

Once you click "Enable Timing Sync", you will be prompted to sign up for a new account or sign in with your existing credentials. If you'd like to reset your password, you can do so here.

After you have signed in, Timing will automatically start merging your local time-tracking data with the data already stored in your sync account.
Once that has finished, you can repeat this process on your next Mac, until all your devices are set up.

Usage

Timing Sync does not need any maintenance or manual interaction; once set up, it will automatically ensure that your data is in sync across all your devices.

If you would like to use one of our additional features built on top of Timing Sync, please refer to the corresponding documentation pages:

Distinguishing Between Devices

On the timeline, you can tell which device a given activity was recorded on:

In addition, you can set up filters to only show data from a specific device; please have a look at our rules documentation on how to accomplish that.

Take our free 5-day course to get started with Timing.