Timing for Teams: Frequently Asked Questions
Who is it for?
Timing for Teams has been designed for agencies needing to manage all team members' Timing projects and time entries in a central location. It also works well for small groups of freelancers who work and bill together.
What does it do?
Each team has a set of projects. These projects are automatically added to Timing for Mac and shared with all team members, so that multiple people can record time towards the same bill. This avoids having to manually create the same projects over and over for each individual team member.
The team's administrator can view all team members' time entries in a central location and export that data for billing. This saves time compared to manually collecting time entries from all members.
If there are any other features that you would like to see in Timing for Teams, please let us know, so we can consider adding them.
Will team members be able to see each others' time entries?
Only members with the role "Administrator" can see tasks from other team members. Members with the role "Contributor" will not be able to see tasks from others.
Will I be able to see tasks in my team members' "personal" projects?
No. Team administrators can see only the tasks that are recorded towards projects that belong to that team; tasks in personal projects are only visible to their creator.
Can each team member define their own project rules?
By default, rules for team projects are shared across the entire team. If you want each member to have their own project rules, contact us.
Can team members hide projects they don't need?
By default, projects' "Archived" states (which can be used to hide projects) are shared across the entire team. If you want each member to set individual archival states, contact us.
How many teams can I create?
As long each team member has a subscription seat for our "Teams" plan, you can create any number of teams.
Can I monitor how my team members use their computer?
Not directly. For privacy reasons, team administrators can not view their team member's app usage (i.e. what people did on their Mac). Instead, only tasks (i.e. manual time entries) are visible to team admins.
Can I view my team's time entries in Timing for Mac?
Time entries from your team are only visible in the Timing Web App, not in Timing for Mac.
What does it cost? How do I order?
You can view the pricing of our "Teams" plan on our pricing page. Note that you need one subscription seat per team member; you can select the desired number of seats on the pricing page or during checkout. You can also easily add or remove seats from your subscription later on.
I already have a Timing license or subscription. How can I upgrade?
Please contact us with details on your license and team for a bespoke upgrade offer.
How can I add more seats to my subscription?
When you subscribe, you receive an email with a link to manage your subscription. On that page, you can enter the desired seat count for your subscription. Once you have set the number of seats, you can add new seats on the same page.
You are also given the option to add a seat when inviting a team member, with a preview of the resulting costs. When you use this option, we will automatically email your new team member instructions for activating their Timing seat.
I have already created some projects in Timing. Can I migrate these to my team?
Yes! If you right-click one of your personal projects in Timing for Mac, you have the option to “Migrate” the project to your team. That will create a copy of the project in your team and automatically move all corresponding time entries to the new project. Note that this should only be done once for each project; if multiple team members migrated a project with the same name, you would end up with multiple instances of that project in your team.
If your team members also need to migrate “private” times to that project, they can follow these instructions:
- Go to the “Details” screen.
- Select a date range that covers all activities in that project in the title bar (e.g. “Past 365 Days”).
- Select the “personal” version of that project in the project list.
- Drag everything in the activity list onto the team project. You can press the Cmd-A hotkey to quickly select everything in that list.
- (Optional) Delete the “personal” project by right-clicking it in the project list.
What happens when I remove someone from a team?
When you remove a team member, we will create “personal” copies of that team's projects in that person's account.
We then move all time entries created by that person in the team to the corresponding “personal” projects.
This process avoids leaving the team member with a lot of unassigned time for the entries which used to be assigned to team projects that they no longer have access to.
Note that once a person is removed from a team, team administrator will no longer be able to view time entries created by that person.
What happens when I delete a team?
The process outlined above for removing one team member is repeated for each team member, leaving each person with their own “personal” copies of that team's projects. The team is then removed from your account.
My team list only shows each member's email address instead of their name. How can I change that?
Please ask your team members to enter a name in their user profile on the Timing Web App.