Ever since we launched Timing 2 a year ago, this has been our most popular feature request:

How can I combine all my tracking data to get a complete picture of what I’m working on?

For a long time, we didn’t have a good answer to this.

But now, with Timing version 2018.1, you can finally sync your Timing data across all your Macs.
The update is free for all Timing 2 customers and available right now (with Sync included for 12 months after your purchase), so you can download it right away or wait for our automatic updater to offer installing it. And if you are using Timing through Setapp, the update should automatically get installed very soon as well.

Upon launching the new version for the first time, you will be greeted with this screen:

Simply enter an email address and password, and Timing will start syncing all your data to the cloud.
It automatically uploads and downloads data to all your Macs — no manual work needed.
And when you sign in on your second Mac, no need to worry about duplicate projects — Timing is smart enough to automatically merge existing projects with the same name.

Also, sync makes for a great off-site backup of your Timing data! No more worrying about restoring your Timing data when you buy a new computer or your old Mac dies; simply log back into your Timing Sync account and all your data is there.

Lastly, Timing 2018.1 includes a few smaller improvements:

  • The headers of PDF and HTML reports have been improved; we removed the distracting report settings header and replaced them with a nicer title and subtitle.
  • Timing will now automatically back up your data locally once per week.
  • AppleScript exports now support selecting whether to include task title, notes, and timespan in the report.
  • We removed an annoying “feature” where changing a task’s start or end time would also mess with the corresponding other field.
  • We also fixed several bugs that only affected a small fraction of users.

That’s it for today — in the rest of the article, I am going to answer a few questions you might have about sync. But first, don’t forget to go ahead and download Timing 2018.1 now! Also, feel free to come say hi (and, if you like what you see, upvote it?) on Timing Sync’s Product Hunt page!


Is sync mandatory?

No. Sync is completely optional; you will be given the option to sign up for Timing Sync the first time the new version launches, but you can choose not to sign up for sync, of course.
As long as you do not sign up for sync, none of your Timing data will leave your computer.
If you later wish to enable sync, you can do so via the Timing preferences.

How much does it cost?

As a thank you for your trust in Timing 2 last year, Timing 2018.1 is a free update for all Timing 2 customers.
Sync is available for free until the end of July, 2018; after that, it is included in your Timing purchase for as long as you are eligible for updates. That’s 12 months from the date of purchase; renewing the sync+updates period after that costs 29/49/79 per year (depending on your edition of Timing).

How secure is my data?

Your data is safe with us. While Timing does not currently use “end-to-end” encryption, all sync data is encrypted while in transit and at rest; once with an AES-256 per-user key before it is even sent to the database, and a second time before the database is written to disk. Your data is stored on Google Cloud Platform in Germany, one of the countries with the strictest data protection laws in the world.
If you’d like to know more, have a look at our privacy policy or contact us.

What’s next?

We hope to offer more value-add services based on sync in the future. Examples would be integrations with other services such as Zapier, Toggl, and Freshbooks.
Even an iOS counterpart to Timing for Mac (with manual time tracking) is an option.
However, please note that we cannot promise any of these features yet; they are still just ideas for now.


Want to see how you spend time on your Macs? Download a free trial of Timing, and find out.